Text Resize

-A A +A
  • EUThe Presidency (EU)

European elections 2014: Know your basics

  • Photo: © European Union 2013 - EP

    © European Union 2013 - EP

Who has the right to vote in European elections? Who has the right to stand for these elections and at what age? Is the vote compulsory in all EU member states and what is the electoral law in every member state? How about postal voting?
Did you know, for instance, that European elections will not take place on the same day across the entire Union? Dutch and Britons will vote for the new members of the European Parliament on 22 May, Irish will vote on 23 May, Slovaks, Latvians and Maltese will go to the polls on 24 May, while elections in the Czech Republic will be held on 23 and 24 May [watch video]. To avoid earlier publication of results, the European Commission has issued a warning to member states not to publish results until all polling is over on 23.00 on 25 May. 
Did you also know that for some countries, European elections are not the only polling that will take place? In Germany, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Malta and Greece local elections will also be taking place, in Romania there will be by-elections for the national Parliament on 25 May, while in Belgium federal elections will also be held on the same day.
Visit the European Parliaments’ election website and find out what are the differences between EU countries concerning European election procedures and organization and other info. Take also a moment to visit the section “Country profile” and learn more about important aspects of every EU country such as economy & technology, jobs & education, environment & energy, society.